Wisdom to Ask for the Right Thing

My Bible reading this morning took me to 1 Kings 3.

What stood out was God’s open invitation and Solomon’s specific response.

God said, “Ask for whatever you want me to give you”…

Now, Lord my God, you have made your servant king in place of my father David. But I am only a little child and do not know how to carry out my duties. Your servant is here among the people you have chosen, a great people, too numerous to count or number. So give your servant a discerning heart to govern your people and to distinguish between right and wrong. For who is able to govern this great people of yours?

God’s question left open any option and Solomon’s answer didn’t settle for something short-term, short-sighted, or out of focus.He went deeper to a consistent and inherent need within us all: wisdom.  Reflect on your pray life. What have you been asking of God? Have you been asking for superficial things or have you found the transcendent truth that God has prepared for you? I am going to resolve to be more intentional in my prayer life, leadership role, and walk with Christ to focus on asking for the right things from God.  Not more money but to use my resources faithfully to His mission. Not more prestige for myself but that His name would be carried into the darkest place of my hearts and into the darkest places in the world. Not more power but that His power would be seen in and through me.

3 thoughts on “Wisdom to Ask for the Right Thing”

Leave a Reply

