Visions @ VBS

This last week has been hard to post, hard to focus or think at all. Each day our church played host to a throng of kids from kindergarten through fifth grade. Each morning they descended onto our campus.

At first I grumbled to myself about the loss of office time, huffed at the rumble that made its way down each hallway each time more kids ran through the door. All I could see was the work to be done.

Thankfully, the week didn’t end there. It was while standing in the back row of the sanctuary that I had a vision at VBS. There a room full of children and volunteers, from different places, walks of life, present for different reasons all sang out a chorus of truth—I AM A C- I AM A CH- I AM A C-H-R-I-S-T-I-A-N…In the midst of work was the future world of the church calling out. The lessons, songs, scripture, and games weren’t some added accessory, but our hope for the future.

Leave a Reply

